How to Avoid Being a Fool.

20120806-105202.jpg

Being right can give people a powerful urge to show other people exactly how and why they are wrong.

I said this. I like it. Sometimes I come up with these little thoughts and I get super excited about them, but have no idea where they came from. Sometimes me smart.

I love being right. Most people probably love being right. Being right means you’re not wrong. Being right means you know something. Unfortunately, sometimes being right makes you an asshole. It’s not the fact that you ARE right that’s the problem. It’s how you choose to be right. Following?

I remember being younger, and being incredibly self-righteous. If I knew someone else was wrong, and they were trying to convince others they they were right, I took pleasure in letting them down. Hard. I did this a lot when I first started dating. I did it in church a little too, when I was really convinced about my faith and how correct it was.

You know what? I hate when people are jerks about truth. It makes truth bitter. It makes you less likely to care what they say. Truth is truth, and it will be truth. Truth acts like truth. You don’t have to act right to prove truth. And that urge to show other people when they are wrong? Yeah, that’s actually insecurity or pride. Perhaps it’s insecurity about yourself, so you compensate by jumping at opportunities to be right. Perhaps it’s pride about how much you know and you need to reveal how much you know to others. Either way, it’s ugly.

I think opportunities to share and teach are better than opportunities to correct. I think encouraging others it’s a much more powerful tool than criticizing others. Dale Carnegie put it perfectly:

Any fool can criticize, condemn, and complain – and most fools do.

You should read his book, How To Win Friends and Influence People. It’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

