No More Half Measures

20120816-103444.jpg

I’ve been watching through Breaking Bad. It’s pretty rough if you’re not into that kind of show, but it’s awesome. The character development and storytelling are prime. The acting is excellent. The concept is captivating. It’s a good show.

In an episode I just watched, a character is talking to the protagonist about what he’s been doing, and what he needs to do, and he says:

“The moral of the story is, I chose a half measure, when I should have gone all the way. I’ll never make that mistake again. No more half measures, Walter.”

Apparently I’m not the only one who found that quote inspiring. There’s a bunch of stuff online about it.

“No more half measures.”

The character Walter White is always choosing half measures. For much of the show he is an everyman. He’s a modern American man, not pretending to be something he’s not, but not really being much of anything. I can identify with that. I know a lot of people can identify with that (consider the popularity of the show).

I am prone to half measures. I only put in half the effort. I only commit part way. I set too many boundaries, get held up by too many inconveniences. I don’t complete projects, I don’t see things through. I choose too many half measures.

No more half measures. I’m going to complete something. I’m going to succeed at something. I’m going to get back up after failing at something.

Leave a Reply

